Identifying Saints

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Identifying Saints

Could someone help be to find out who is the patron saint of soldiers? I have a nephew who is a combat medic in Iraq, and would like to send him amedal. He's had some tough times. I would like to get the medal ,ask a priest to bless it and send it to him. I'm sure that someone here can answer my question. Thank you in advance. Doug

Soldiers George, Martin of Tours, Maurice, Sebastian
    Also,
    Soldiers, American Joan of Arc
    According to
    http://www.catholic.org/saints/patron.php?letter=S

Comment

There are many saints of offer partronage to soldiers. Two of which are Michael the Archangel, and Stanislaus of Cracow. A medal for St. Michael shouldn't be hard to find, St. Stanislaus might be a bit more time consuming.

Pax Christi
      Rev. Joel+
      Pax Christ.. <br />Rev. Joel<br />++++++++++++<br />We few, we happy few, we band of brothers; for he to-day that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne\'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accursed they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin\'s day.

Comment

Personally, were I Catholic, or Episcopalian, or whatever, that made an issue out of "Saints", I'd have to select St. Dismas as my patron.

But since I'm a Baptist, and a Missionary Baptist at that, (The Southern Baptists are Liberals!) I have to conclude that Our Lord will select his "Saints" as he will choose them, and that none of us have any notable input into the process.

BTW, I'll note that you can look up why Dismas is a Saint, and see that at least he has some Divine backing, assuming I'm reading the Book right.

Most of the rest of them? I don't see Him saying they'll be anywhere with Him... But YMMV. Just read I Corinthians 15, Verses 1 through 4.