Support this site with your Contribution. Click on the Membership link below.
Home | Discussion Forums | Mission Statement | Membership | Links | Contact Us | Rules |

Assaultweb.net Forums  

Go Back   Assaultweb.net Forums > Member Services > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 10th, 2012, 09:43 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

I bought a Toshiba Satellite A105-S4397 laptop from one of my co-workers yesterday for an incredible $20 bucks.

It's in good shape, specs that don't really knock you out though, and it's about 6 years old. I was thrilled to get it though as I can't afford a laptop and wanted something to surf the net that was mobile around the house.

Here's the rub...

The previous owner deleted the recovery partition (who in the heck does that??? Really?) and so far hasn't found the OS disc. Says he has it, no big deal if he doesn't since I'm going to order it anyway.

The problem is that I can't see any of the downloads I've done since last night. The path is C:/users/public/public downloads. When I open this folder there is nothing there. I know those .exe's are there because when I attempt another download they can be seen as a selection to which you could save the new file to.

What I tried was copying the path of a previously downloaded file from this download box and paste it in the Run program on the start menu. Computer says it can't find it because it doesn't exist!

It does not appear on a search using the exact program name.

I think there is a virus on this computer but I can't download anything usable to scan or check for it. This is the only anomaly with this computer. Other than this it runs fine. It's fast for it's age, no strange error messages, no crashes, or re-boots.

After searching the better part of two days I found someone who encountered this very same problem in Vista back in 2009. No one on this forum had an explanation nor a solution.

Here is the link that better describes what I've written above with screen captures of this poor guy's problem.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...up-373796.html

If any really tech savy guys know what this glitch in Vista is I'd really like to hear about it until my new OS disc shows up.

The reason I'm even fooling around with this is that it teaches me things I didn't know before about the OS even if I can't fix the problem. I'm going to overwrite the whole thing anyway.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 10th, 2012, 10:03 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

As a PS, I was able to download and install IE 9. It was a self-install .exe and I didn't have to do anything.

Don't know why this worked but nothing else will.

Now I believe there is a virus on the system. Internet Explorer 9 allows more information about the download to be displayed. After the item is downloaded and scanned, it reports that the downloaded program was infected with a virus and will be deleted.

Now I have to figure out just what is scanning the download and where it is. Whatever it is I'll bet it's buried itself deep in the registry. It does this even in safe mode.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!

Last edited by Herr Walther; March 10th, 2012 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 10th, 2012, 11:02 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Now I've been able to also download and install Google Chrome browser.

Seems that for a program that self installs with no user imput will install and run.

Still no O&O Defrag, or CC Cleaner, or the drivers for my Motorola phone.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 11th, 2012, 12:20 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

I made a file association change in the registry for .exe files. I was still having IE8 deleting my downloads even after this registry change.

Now however, after downloading .exe's in Google Chrome, it asks to save as file type (what I changed the registry entry to) and now downloads are possible.

Apparently whatever virus is on this system doesn't get along with Google Chrome. In addition, Google Chrome picked up right away the file extension change I made whereas IE8 ignored it, or the virus software forced it to be ignored.

Let's see how Win8 runs.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 11th, 2012, 04:31 PM
Noland's Avatar
Noland Noland is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14,189
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Depending on the price for the disc, and if you have the license key, which is probably on a sticker on the unit, then I could send you a Vista disc for free - no need to order anything that way. If the price they want is too high then I am happy to help. I am a TechNet subscriber so I can get it straight from Microsoft anytime I want. But check that you can get the drivers from the Toshiba website before you wipe everything out.
__________________
One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation. – Thomas B. Reed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 11th, 2012, 04:40 PM
Noland's Avatar
Noland Noland is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14,189
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Forgot to say that C:/users/public/public downloads is not where I would expect the default Download folder would be.

C:/users/YourCurrentUsername/downloads is how it defaults in Windows 7. Though I admit that I am pretty ignorant about Vista since it is the only version of Windows that I have never used for myself.
__________________
One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation. – Thomas B. Reed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 11th, 2012, 04:53 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

I created that download folder so I would know where I put anything (Windows Vista is alien to me). Unfortunately everything I downloaded was deleted until I made the registry change and switched the browser to Google Chrome.

I now have Windows 8 Consumer Preview running without a hitch! I couldn't be happier. Well, I could if I could find a working driver for my fingerprint reader, but that's no big deal.

So for $20 bucks I have a heck of a laptop now. Thanks for your offer, I appreciate the thought. I would have taken you up on it if I hadn't stumbled on to this work-around to get a clean OS going.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!

Last edited by Herr Walther; March 11th, 2012 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 11th, 2012, 05:27 PM
Noland's Avatar
Noland Noland is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14,189
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

MS will make that Windows 8 preview stop working x days after they officially release Windows 8.

If you decide to go back to Vista, just let me know if you need the installation media. That goes for any MS media, actually. I can hook you up with Windows 3.11 or DOS 5.0 too.
__________________
One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation. – Thomas B. Reed
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 11th, 2012, 06:26 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

After working with Win8 for the past few hours I can tell you I really like it. I'd be willing to spend the money on the retail disc when it becomes available if they don't want my firstborn for payment.

So far this Win8 is really the cat's socks for an OS for what I need it for. This laptop will be used mostly for multi-media and surfing on the go and around the house away from my desktops.

I'm not so sure it would work as well for running my 727 flight simulator on a network, but that's a long ways down the road.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 13th, 2012, 06:45 AM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

I found out it expires 13JAN13. I hope the release is out at least by then.

All of the Vista or Win7 drivers seem to be working with Win8. The fingerprint scanner and touch mouse is working, and so is the software driver for my Droid X and I'm able to tether from it for internet access on the go.

iTunes has a glitch where it won't start again immediately if a song has been stopped.

It does fine if you select something, start play, and let it run. It will advance to the next song without a problem. If you stop play though it takes around five minutes or so for it to begin playing again. Everything I would have tried (and then some) has already been tried with no solution.

The issue is common across all computer platforms and is well known on the Win8 support forum. It does it with Windows Media Player too. MS is aware of the glitch.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 14th, 2012, 11:22 AM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Windows Application and System32 folder is not accessable unless you take ownership of the folder. PITA to do, but easy enough I guess. There is a procedure I followed that is on the internet that taught me how to do this. Many hoops to jump through but it works.

I don't know why MS has decided that I can't have (easy) access to part of the software I paid for (or will pay for upon release). I did not have access trouble with any folders or files in XP.

Even as the Administrator Poo-bah you still do not have access to certain folders without taking ownership (taking control) of the file system.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 25th, 2012, 09:58 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Yesterday I installed 4 GB of PC4200 DDR2 ram into the laptop. It's giving my desktop a run for it's money even though the processor in the desktop is faster (and with identical cache) than the laptop. The FSB is also much faster in the desktop, but still, this amount of ram makes the laptop noticably faster even in an inherently slower machine.

It boots incredibly fast. Faster than I've ever seen any computer running Windows.

Unfortunately, on the system screen it says only 3.GB of this is usable. Not sure why that is. I thought Vista and Win7 had a usable ram spec way up near 128 GB. I thought Win8 would follow suit. Unless the OS is using the first 1 GB, and the rest is for applications and processes, unless this is a hardware limitation.

The specs say it will take up to 4096 MB of ram.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 25th, 2012, 10:27 PM
Noland's Avatar
Noland Noland is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14,189
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herr Walther View Post

Unfortunately, on the system screen it says only 3.GB of this is usable. Not sure why that is. I thought Vista and Win7 had a usable ram spec way up near 128 GB. ..

The specs say it will take up to 4096 MB of ram.
That is a limit of it being a 32 bit OS. This article explains it better than I could. http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/c...confusion/3124
__________________
One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation. – Thomas B. Reed
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 26th, 2012, 12:32 AM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

I forgot. 64 bit can access that much, not 32 bit.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 2nd, 2012, 06:41 PM
Papadoc's Avatar
Papadoc Papadoc is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jefferson City
Posts: 1,932
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herr Walther View Post
I now have Windows 8 Consumer Preview running without a hitch! I couldn't be happier. Well, I could if I could find a working driver for my fingerprint reader, but that's no big deal.

Herr Walther,

Can you find a Windows 7 32-bit driver for your fingerprint reader? If so, the Windows 8 will accept this. I have had to do this on both my laptop (HP DV9000) and Netbook (Asus EEEPC 1000HE) to get everything working correctly.

Hope this helps. BTW, Per Microsoft Windows 8 will go live in October, so you should have plenty of time. As for price, take a look on Newegg.com for OEM copies of Windows 7 to get a fair approximation of the Windows 8 pricing.
__________________
"SI *VIS *PACEM, *PARA *BELLUM"
http://survivalblog.com
MOLON LABE!
AC0XV
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 2nd, 2012, 08:11 PM
Herr Walther's Avatar
Herr Walther Herr Walther is offline
Your Friendly Kraut
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The 50th CCW State
Posts: 18,800
Default Re: Toshiba Laptop w/Vista

The fingerprint reader is working fine. I'm using an old Vista driver. Thanks for the reply.
__________________

Peace is our Profession, War is just a Hobby...
Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation...Strategic Air Command

SAC WILL BE BACK!

American by birth, made from German parts from Emmingen, Baden-Württemberg

An unhappy German is a Sauer Kraut!

Das Leben ist zu kurz, um billiges Bier zu trinken!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 to 2008 Assaultweb.net